The John A. Roebling Bridge
(Officially opened January 1, 1867)
The John A. Roebling Bridge has been an iconic landmark over the Ohio River for more than 150 years. Designed by civil engineer John Roebling, the bridge officially opened to traffic on January 1, 1867. Its 1,075 foot span made it the longest bridge in the world.
The bridge is an engineering marvel that employed several new bridge-building techniques. Perhaps its most impressive features are the two primary cables, each containing 5,180 individual wires. The cables were “spun” in place using wire imported from England. A second set of cables was added in 1897 to support heavier loads.
In addition to being a National Historic Landmark, the bridge has been designated as a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).
Although the Roebling shares the riverfront with several bridges today, it remains a major thoroughfare for pedestrians and vehicles. Many residents use it to get to work each day, access the riverfront sports venues, and to reach the bars and restaurants in Covington and Cincinnati.
We invite you to walk across the Roebling Bridge for an up-close look at its structure and the views offered along its span.